Outlining, what’s your method?

Soooo… Because I enjoy procrastinating so much, I spent most of last night searching for different methods of outlining. Personally, I outline differently depending on my mood. For my original NaNo Novel (which I only got 200 words into) I took a slew of post-it notes filled with random plot-related snippets and then used them to redecorate the walls of my room. It made for an interesting decorating choice…

Then, for RotP I pantsed most of it… Wow, that sentence sounded weird. Anyway, I didn’t plan most of it. Now, I’m working more on a basic outline for the rest of RotP as well as for the other books in the series.

What about you? Are you a pantser or a planner?

4 thoughts on “Outlining, what’s your method?

  1. I am definitely a pantster (See King’s “On Writing” for the fossil metaphor). In fact, the more a try to plot something, the more I ruin it. While there is no one way to write a book, discovering your own unique process takes years. I’ll also add the disclaimer that everyone is both pantster and plotter–it just depends on what degree in what direction. I’ve met writers that are 50/50. Their processes make for some interesting conversation, to say the least.

    • I think that my life would be a lot easier if I was more of a plotter… I have yet to meet a 50/50er, but I look forward to it now!

      Thanks for the book recommendation, and thanks for stopping by!

      Eva

  2. I start with names, occupations, a little family history and a general idea of what’s going to happen in the story- the bare bones. I’m a pantser for the most part, thought sometimes I do have to brainstorm to work through scenes.

    • How do you choose your names? That’s always been really difficult for me. Currently I use a random name generator for stories that aren’t fantasy and then for fantasy novels/short stories, I roll syllables around until something clicks…

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Eva

Thoughts? Responses? Critiques?

