X is for Xenophobia

Now, I pride myself on a number of things (perhaps too many) but two of my main selling points are my international outlook and my vocabulary.

Way back when, when I took the SSATs to get into high school, I had a very strange experience. There was a word that I didn’t know… It was, as you may have guessed, xenophobia. Now, immediately after the test, I went home and googled it. I then learned what it meant and was puzzled. I was aware of racism, I do live in the US after all, but I couldn’t reconcile it with any of my views and found it strange that anyone who had no experience of the wonderful things that other cultures could offer us would write it off as bad or wrong…

Now, I’m sure that I’ve been guilty of this occasionally but as of today, with all of you as my witnesses, I’m promising to change my behavior to one that endeavors to accept all the world and all it can teach us. How about you?

3 thoughts on “X is for Xenophobia

  1. I agree. We are all the same with only surface differences – literally and figuratively.

    When I hear the word “xenophobia” I think of the fear of aliens from outerspace, but then, I like science fiction.

Thoughts? Responses? Critiques?

