F is for Fantasy

I am a fantasy writer. I’m not sure why, perhaps it’s because I’m part of the Harry Potter generation or perhaps it’s because I’ve always been a bit imaginative… Who knows… I’ve never really been able to write anything fully grounded in reality. God knows that my English teachers have given up on trying to improve my analytical writing. They always announce puzzlement at the contrast in coherency and skill when it comes to comparing my analytical and creative writing.

Perhaps this is a bit my fault. Because I’ve always gotten better grades with creative projects, if there’s ever a choice, I consistently choose the creative option. Let it never be said that I take the hard way out of anything…

For me, it’s easier to express my own opinions through the voices of my  characters. I assume that I am not embarrassed by my thoughts and opinions, for I explain them to anyone willing to listen, but I find that the thoughts flow more clearly when one character is explaining his or her thoughts to another as opposed to me explaining them to my reader… This is why, I suppose, I find first-person narratives extremely hard to write…

Ah well, I think that this might be bordering on a bit long, so I’ll end here. Thoughts?

Eva

5 thoughts on “F is for Fantasy

  1. Each writer has his or her own reasons for writing, and as long as he/she is happy with them, all’s right with the world.

    Look forward to your challenge run…
    –Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

  2. I like to write in the first person-maybe because I love reading mystery and suspense novels so much,and they often are written in the first person. I don’t generally write mysteries,but I still like that format.
    I do like the idea of the characters talking to each other,though,so I also like third person narrative.
    I agree that it’s basically whatever style you feel most comfortable with. When you feel comfortable your creativity flows more easily,and that’s the most important thing!

    • Thanks so much for the feedback! I’m in the process of writing my first mystery (a novella). I’ve chosen 3rd person, but I think that might just be my preference.

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Eva

Thoughts? Responses? Critiques?

