Review: Death Comes to Pemberley

Death Comes to Pemberley
Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

If you’re thinking that this is Agatha Christie meets the best fanfiction ever, you’re wrong.

The story itself wouldn’t necessarily be classified as a crime novel, more of a regency-era legal procedural. Less time in the plot is spent finding the murder than on the different trials. Most often, I, as a reader, enjoy those crime novels that challenge me to discover the killer on my own, or at least keep me guessing until the very end. This one led me right to the killer, and seemed to be missing suspense. I would, by no means, call it a page turner.

In terms of the Darcys, they seemed to simply regular characters with familiar names. Although you see hints of Austen’s characters, they’re not the focus of the story, something that may be a bit disappointing for readers searching for a post Pride and Prejudice window into the Darcys’ life.

Overall, the writing is exceptional, but the premise is a bit iffy.

View all my reviews

Thoughts? Responses? Critiques?

