Review: Alanna: The First Adventure

Alanna: The First Adventure
Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This has to be one of my favorite books ever. I received this book and the second one when I must have been around eight. I kept them close and read them over and over again, not realizing that the series continued. When I figured it out, I immediately went to Barnes and Noble to purchase all of the Tortallan books. To say the least, I was hooked.

The characters are engaging, the dialogue is witty and the plot is well paced. Since I was so young the first time I read it, I went back a number of times to reread not only this book but the ones that followed it as well. In fact, I think that I shall read it yet again sometime soon!

Although it is a short book (it takes me around an hour and a half to read on a slow day) it is a wonderful book to pack in a bag if you have some quick travel, a short commute or just don’t want to be bored.

Even though I loved this novel, I would not recommend it to everyone. If you are not a fan of fantasy (regular or high) do not read. If you don’t enjoy stories about girls being better than boys, don’t read it. If you are not a fan of books targeted at a younger audience, don’t read it.

If none of these apply to you, I highly recommend it.

I can’t wait to hear what you think!

Eva

View all my reviews

Thoughts? Responses? Critiques?

