50,000 Words in One Month? Check!

That’s right, everyone! I’ve finished NaNoWriMo! My fingers ache, my eyes are blurring and I’m pretty sure that my last line had nothing to do with the rest of the story. Regardless, I finished… Now onto the editing! Well, actually, now onto finishing the story.

Although I have reached 50,000 words, I know that this story is not over and I plan to see it until the end. My friend has asked for a copy to read for Christmas, so I guess that that’s my new deadline. 80,000 words (total) and then maybe edited down before Dec. 25. That’s what, 25 days? 30,000 words? 2 of the weeks are break? No problem! Over Thanksgiving break I wrote more than all the other weeks combined… My word count graph looked exponential!

There is, of course, one slight problem. How does one edit a fictional piece? I know the basics of spelling and grammar, but what about content? Does anyone have any advice for me?

Thanks!

Eva

Thoughts? Responses? Critiques?

