V is for Virtue

Okay, prepare for a bit of soapbox-ing.

Why do we have such an emphasis on non-existent virtue in our society? I’m the first to admit that I’m a sucker for romance novels, but in those the heroine is almost always the perfect example of traditional virtue… She is idealized in an unrealistic manner…

Personally, it’s a bit insulting! Then again, I still read the books, so I guess that something is working… Thoughts?

 

About Evangeline Warren

Reader, Writer and WriMo... What else is there to life?

Posted on April 28, 2012, in April A-Z, Challenges, Other, Personal, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love your blog! As for the whole virtuous thing, I think maybe it’s easier for us to imagine a story where the virtuous ideal of all humanity ends up with the big adventure. If the heroine/hero has faults like we do, then it’s not believable that he could….go slay a dragon for example. I think, maybe, it has to do with us reading books to escape from reality.

    • Thanks for the love and the wonderful analysis… I’d never thought of it like that… I’ve approached it from the side of wanting to make adventures achievable and heros/heroines human…

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Eva

  2. I just love the romance…and virtue is a good thing,but everybody’s human and I like the characters to be too…makes it connectable for me.

  1. Pingback: A to Z Reflections « Evangeline Warren

Thoughts? Responses? Critiques?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers

